No 138: October 2022

No 138: October 2022

Table of Contents

EATCS Matters

Letter from the President PDF
Artur Czumaj
Letter from the Editor PDF
Stefan Schmid
The EATCS Award 2023 - Call for Nominations PDF
Johan Håstad
The Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2023 - Call for Nominations PDF
Mikołaj Bojanczyk
EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award 2022 - Call for Nominations PDF
Susanne Albers
EATCS Fellows 2023 - Call for Nominations PDF
Secretary Office of EATCS

EATCS Columns

Know the Person behind the Papers: Monika Henzinger PDF
The Interview Column by Chen Avin and Stefan Schmid
Prizes and Prejudice PDF
Sophie Huiberts, The Viewpoint Column by Stefan Schmid
Bringing Research-Life to Centerstage PDF
Omer Reingold, The Theory Blogs Column by Luca Trevisan
Approximate counting using Taylor’s theorem: a survey PDF
Viresh Patel, Guus Regts, The Algorithmics Column by Thomas Erlebach
Current Challenges in Reliable and Secure Clock Synchronization PDF
Swen Jacobs, Christoph Lenzen, The Distributed Computing Column by Seth Gilbert
Testing of an Interactive Online Learning Environment with Focus on Algorithmic Tasks PDF
Dario Naepfer, The Education Column by Juraj Hromkovic and Dennis Komm
Recent Progress on Derandomizing Space-Bounded Computation PDF
William M. Hoza, The Computational Complexity Column by Michal Koucky
A Surprising Relationship Between Descriptive Complexity and Proof Complexity PDF
Yijia Chen, Jörg Flum, Moritz Müller, The Logic in Computer Science Column by Yuri Gurevich

News and Conference Reports

CONCUR through time PDF
Luca Aceto, Pierluigi Crescenzi
Report on NCMA 2022: 12th International Workshop on Non-Classical Models of Automata and Applications PDF
Bianca Truthe
Report on DCFS 2022: 24th International Conference on Descriptional Complexity of Formal Systems PDF
Bianca Truthe
Report on MCU 2022: 9th International Conference on Machines, Computations, and Universality PDF
Bianca Truthe
Report on CPM 2022 PDF
Nadia Pisanti

Contributions by EATCS Award Recipients

Interviews with the 2022 CONCUR Test-of-Time Award Recipients PDF
Luca Aceto, Orna Kupferman, Mickael Randour, Davide Sangiorgi