ACKERMANN AWARD 2022

THE EACSL OUTSTANDING DISSERTATION AWARD FOR

LOGIC IN COMPUTER SCIENCE 2022

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

DEADLINE: 1 July 2022

Nominations are now invited for the 2022 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 July 2022. Submission details follow below.

The 2022 Ackermann Award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL 2023, the annual conference of the EACSL.

The award consists of

- a certificate,
- an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
- the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
- an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS, and
- financial support to attend the conference.

The jury consists of:

- Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
- Maribel Fernandez (King's College London);

- Delia Kesner (IRIF, U Paris);
- Slawomir Lasota (U Warsaw);
- Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
- Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
- Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
- Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL;
- Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative;
- James Worrell (U Oxford).

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one dissertation in a year.

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

- 1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
- 2. a detailed description (not longer than 10 pages) of the thesis in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file); it is recommended to not squeeze as much material as possible into these 10 pages, but rather to use them for a gentle introduction and overview, stressing the novel results obtained in the thesis and their impact;
- 3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick (thomas.schwentick@tu-dortmund.de);
- 4. a short CV of the candidate;
- 5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chair of the jury, Thomas Schwentick: thomas.schwentick@tu-dortmund.de

The e-mail should have the subject line *Ackermann Award 22 Submission* and as text the name of the candidate and the list of attachments. Submissions can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case, please indicate it in the text.