## **Theoretics**

**TheoreticS** is a new Diamond Open Access electronic journal covering all areas of Theoretical Computer Science (TCS), that will be launched during Fall 2021. The scope of the journal is TCS broadly construed, including, but not restricted to, the Theory of Computing and the Theory of Programming. One of our aims is to bridge the, often artificial, division between TCS-A and TCS-B.

Access to all papers is free. Authors are not required to pay any publication fees or article processing charges, and retain copyright under a Creative Commons license.

**TheoreticS** strives for top quality scholarship in Theoretical Computer Science. It publishes original research, explicitly including suitably revised and extended versions of conference papers. To be accepted, a paper must make a significant contribution of lasting value to a relevant area of TCS, and its presentation must be of high quality.

**TheoretiCS** is published by the TheoretiCS Foundation e.V., a non-profit organisation registered in Germany. The journal is a joint effort of the TCS community. Its policies are decided by the Advisory Board, mostly consisting of representatives of major TCS conferences.

**TheoretiCS** is an overlay journal of the Computing Research Repository (CoRR) on arXiv. It is hosted by the Episciences platform for overlay journals, which is kindly provided by the CCSD.

**Editorial Board.** The inaugural Editors-in-Chief are Javier Esparza (TU Munich) and Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv U.). The Editorial Board can be found at https://theoretics.episciences.org/, see also below.

**Organization and some history.** The project started in 2019 and underwent a long gestation. Our aim was to rapidly become a reference journal and to contribute to the unity of the Theoretical Computer Science global community. From the start, we wanted to have a thorough discussion with a wide representation of

the community, on how to best implement the guiding principles of TheoretiCS. It was deemed essential to make sure that all fields of theoretical computer science would feel at home in this journal, and that it would be recognized as a valid venue for publication all over the world.

This resulted in the creation of an Advisory Board, composed of representatives of most of the main conferences in the field (currently APPROX, CCC, COLT, CONCUR, CSL, FOCS, FoSSaCS, FSCD, FSTTCS, ICALP, ICDT, ITCS, LICS, MFCS, PODC, SoCG, SODA, STACS, STOC, TCC) and of so-called members-at-large.

TheoretiCS acknowledges endorsement by Noga Alon, Shafi Goldwasser, Donald E. Knuth, Robert E. Tarjan, Leslie Valiant, Moshe Y. Vardi, and Andrew C.-C. Yao.

**Editorial Board.** Editors-in-Chief: Javier Esparza (Technical University of Munich) and Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv University)

Martin Abadi (Google, USA), Andris Ambainis (U. of Latvia), Albert Atserias (UPC, Barcelona), Haris Aziz (UNSW, Sydney), David Basin (ETH Zürich), Patricia Bouyer (CNRS, Paris-Saclay), Nicolò Cesa-Bianchi (Università di Milano), Anuj Dawar (Cambridge University), Luc Devroye (McGill University, Montreal), Jacob Fox (Stanford University), Mohsen Ghaffari (ETH Zürich), Georg Gottlob (Oxford University), Anupam Gupta (Carnegie Mellon University), Venkatesan Guruswami (Carnegie Mellon University), Johan Håstad (KTH, Stockholm), Ravi Kannan (Microsoft Research India, Bengaluru), Anna Karlin (University of Washington, Seattle), Ken-ichi Kawarabayashi (National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo), Valerie King (University of Victoria), Robert Kleinberg (Cornell University), Naoki Kobayashi (University of Tokyo), Elias Koutsoupias (Oxford University), Xavier Leroy (Collège de France, Paris), Katrina Ligett (Hebrew University, Jerusalem), Rupak Majumdar (MPI-SWS, Kaiserslautern), Joseph Mitchell (State University of New York at Stony Brook), Mehryar Mohri (Google and New York University), David Mount (University of Maryland), Anca Muscholl (Université de Bordeaux), Danupon Nanongkai (University of Copenhagen), Moni Naor (Weizmann Institute, Rehovot), Catuscia Palamidessi (Inria, Palaiseau), Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw), Jean-Francois Raskin (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Peter Sanders (KIT, Karlsruhe), Davide Sangiorgi (Università di Bologna), Nitin Saxena (IIT Kanpur), Alistair Sinclair (UC Berkeley), Ola Svensson (EPF Lausanne), Gregory Valiant (Stanford University), Stephanie Weirich (University of Pennsylvania), Virginia V. Williams (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), James Worrell (Oxford University), Mihalis Yannakakis (Columbia University, New York).