EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award 2021

Call for Nominations

DEADLINE: 31 DECEMBER 2021

The EATCS establishes the Distinguished Dissertation Award to promote and recognize outstanding dissertations in the field of Theoretical Computer Science.

Any PhD dissertation in the field of Theoretical Computer Science that has been successfully defended in 2021 is eligible.

Three dissertations will be selected by the committee for year 2021. The dissertations will be evaluated on the basis of originality and potential impact on their respective fields and on Theoretical Computer Science.

Each of the selected dissertations will receive a prize of 1000 Euro. The award receiving dissertations will be published on the EATCS web site, where all the EATCS Distinguished Dissertations will be collected.

The dissertation must be submitted by the author as an attachment to an email message sent to the address dissertation-award@eatcs.org with subject EATCS Distinguished Dissertation Award 2021 by 31 December 2021. The body of the message must specify:

- Name and email address of the candidate;
- Title of the dissertation;
- Department that has awarded the PhD and denomination of the PhD program;
- Name and email address of the thesis supervisor;
- Date of the successful defense of the thesis.

A five page abstract of the dissertation and a letter by the thesis supervisor certifying that the thesis has been successfully defended must also be included. In addition, the author must include an endorsement letter from the thesis supervisor and can include one more endorsement letter.

The dissertations will be selected by the following committee:

- Susanne Albers
- Nikhil Bansal
- Elvira Mayordomo
- Jaroslav Nešetřil
- Damian Niwiński
- David Peleg (chair)
- Vladimiro Sassone
- Alexandra Silva

The award committee will solicit the opinion of members of the research community as appropriate.

Theses supervised by members of the selection committee are not eligible.

The EATCS is committed to equal opportunities, and welcomes submissions of outstanding theses from all authors.