## EATCS-Fellows 2021

The EATCS has recognized six of its members for their outstanding contributions to theoretical computer science by naming them as recipients of an EATCS fellowship.

The EATCS Fellows for 2021 are:

**Luca Aceto,** Reykjavik University, Iceland, and Gran Sasso Science Institute, Italy: for his fundamental contributions to concurrency theory, and outstanding merits for the community of theoretical computer science, in particular as an inspiring president of EATCS.



**Rajeev Alur,** University of Pennsylvania, USA: for his fundamental contributions to the theory of verification, especially of timed and hybrid, concurrent and multi-agent, and hierarchical and recursive systems.



**Samir Khuller,** Northwestern University, USA: for his fundamental contributions to combinatorial approximation algorithms – specifically for work in graph algorithms and scheduling, and for mentoring and building community.



**David Peleg,** Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel: for his fundamental contributions to the areas of distributed graph algorithms, wireless networks, robotics and social networks, and his longstanding support for the development of theoretical computer science in Europe.



**Davide Sangiorgi,** University of Bologna, Italy: for his fundamental contributions to concurrency and the foundations of programming languages, contributing notably to the  $\pi$ -calculus and to coinduction-based proofs.



**Saket Saurabh,** The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India: for his fundamental contributions to algorithms, including parameterized algorithms and kernelization.



The aforementioned members of the EATCS were selected by the EATCS Fellow Selection Committee, after examining the nominations received from our research community.

The EATCS Fellow Selection Committee consisted of

- Christel Baier
- Mikołaj Bojanczyk (chair)
- Mariangiola Dezani
- Josep Diaz
- Giuseppe F. Italiano

The EATCS Fellows Program was established by the association in 2014 to recognize outstanding EATCS members for their scientific achievements in the field of Theoretical Computer Science. The Fellow status is conferred by the EATCS Fellows-Selection Committee upon a person having a track record of intellectual and organizational leadership within the EATCS community. Fellows are expected to be "model citizens" of the TCS community, helping to develop the standing of TCS beyond the frontiers of the community.

The EATCS is very proud to have the above-mentioned members of the association among its fellows.

The list of EATCS Fellows is available at http://www.eatcs.org/index.php/eatcs-fellows.